The History of Tallberg
Tallberg or “Thaellebaerghe”, like the old name from 1450 was written, which means “The Mountain of Pinetrees”, is a beautiful village located on the slope down to Lake Siljan, which enjoys exquisite sunsets over the lake all year round.
Until the beginning of the twentieth century, Tallberg was an ordinary farming village, with about thirty full-time family farms with various types of farm animals. However, when the railway came in 1914, more and more people began to explore this beautiful village and the tourist business fast became the main source income for the villagers. Big private houses were transformed into hotels and boarding houses, yes, even turning the old village school into a boarding house. Thus, forever changing Tallberg from a “farming village” to a “tourist village”.